Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: PSN and Eidosmontreal.com hacked

PSN and Eidosmontreal.com hacked

As you probably already know, Sony's PlayStation Network has been hacked.

The hackers gained access to personal customer data such as name, address (city, state, zip), country, email address, birthdate, PlayStation Network/Qriocity handle/PSN online ID and password. Possibly even credit card information, although that is not sure yet.

Now, what I don't understand is why customer's passwords were up for grabs in the first place.

As a webmaster/web designer, I know that passwords of customers should never ever be stored in your website's database!

Any large and professional website obscures passwords with encryption (MD5 hashing for example, which is what I use for my users) once a new user registers an account. This makes it so that even the company's employees cannot see customer's passwords.

This makes just common sense. A password is nobody's business but your own!

But I guess since Sony didn't even bother to take this crucial security check, it is no wonder that their server ended up being hacked, because if you oversee such a basic security flaw, who knows what [other holes they left in their system]

Driber.net | Forum Thumbnailer | Driber Wagon™ | RAWR! | TR Ancient Legends III - Lost Chambers | -- .- .-. .. . / .. ... / -.-. ..- - . :-)

I've had this same arguement with some people on twitter, it's a fundamental base for any concept of useraccount system as far as I was aware and the fact that it was ignored raises some serious questions.